Happy New Year!  2009 was a good year for my jewelry business and I am looking forward to a wonderful 2010.  Starting a fresh new year all sparkly and clean is why I selected these earrings for this post.  They have plenty of sparkle going on.

Reflecting on 2009, these are some milestones:

  • I studied at Penland School of Craft for two weeks taking a metals class under instructor Bob Ebendorf and his assistant Marlene True.  What I learned in the class enriched my skills and helped me break some boundaries in my jewelry.
  • My blog turned one years old.  Now in the second year of blogging, I think/hope I have hit my stride and found my voice.
  • I showed my jewelry at Hampton Bay Days and enjoyed and learned from interacting with the public.
  • I’ve enjoyed Tweeting about jewelry and participating in the Twitter community and have over 600 followers.
  • I was fortunate enough to be able to giveaway four books and one gift card to blog readers.  Thank you Lark Books and Artbeads.com.
  • I found my path with social networks.  I moved away from scant participation in too many to solid participation in one – The Indie Business Network.  As a result, my time in the one social network is much more meaningful and I’ve made friends there.
  • I held my first-ever Cyber Monday online jewelry party.

So many other things happened, these are just a few highlights.  Looking ahead, these are some goals and plans I have.

  • I definitely want to continue blogging, enjoy writing, and enjoy interacting with readers.
  • I’d like to do 2-3 art/craft shows.
  • I have signed up for a class with Susan Lenart Kazmer and am so excited.
  • I’m also taking an enameling 101 class.  It’s only one day so I know it won’t be but so in-depth, but I’ve wanted to study enameling for so long and this was all I could get this year.  I can’t wait.
  • I’m building a mailing list and my online newsletter will be published on a regular basis.
  • I will get one of those gadgets that lets you take credit cards at craft shows.
  • I am in the process of designing and will introduce my first collection of 12-15 cohesive gallery pieces.
  • I will continue my journey of learning to work with metal, becoming more and more skilled.

I guess I need to get started and I hope you reach your goals and dreams in this shiny new year.

Bookmark and Share

Charlene

