Project from Bugle Bead Bonanza

Bugle beads – those long, thin cousins of seed beads – have been flying under the radar for quite a while, at least from my perspective.  They’re pretty, from a beading point of view one bead covers a lot of ground, and they are usually reasonably priced.  So, when I heard about Jamie Cloud Eakin’s new book Bugle Bead Bonanza from Lark Books, I was interested to see if there would be a new spin on bugle beads.

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.  The projects are gorgeous and in addition to the usual suspects – necklaces, bracelets, and earrings – there are also projects to make rings.  The book has excellent instructions and diagrams and once you master some basics in putting bugle and seed beads together, you are well-equipped to conquer all of the projects.  I like that each piece is shown in three different color variations showing the versatility of the projects.

Bugle beads do have one “gotcha”.  They can be somewhat sharp on the ends and a thread that passes through a bugle bead and then makes a right-angle turn is subject to being frayed and cut over time.  Every project in this book is designed such that this type of turn is never made and the problem is avoided.

If you’d like to enter the giveaway for this book, please leave a comment along with a valid e-mail address.  The winner will be picked on Friday 12/18/09 at 7:00pm EST (GMT -5).

The book has been provided by Lark Books and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

Bookmark and Share

