Janine Earrings

I love art and was in a hotel in Charlotte, NC that had absolutely stunning artwork throughout the lobbies and hallways.  One piece that caught my eye in particular was a large abstract painting in striking red, orange, and gold tones with dashes of turquoise and moss.  I realize it cannot interpret an entire painting in 66 beads, but I think I captured enough to bring back the feelings I had when looking at the painting and my appreciation of the artist’s mastery of color.  I added larger orange crystals and smaller pale aqua ones to symbolize the joining of both warm and cool color families in the painting and the beadwork.

The beaded part of the earrings are made using two layers of 66 beads each that are tightly woven together using square stitch – my favorite of the off-loom bead weaving stitches.

Bookmark and Share

