Beading with World Beads

Photo and book courtesy of Lark Books

Beads and jewelry making mean so much to me and I love learning more about the origins and history of beads.  I also love seeing the varied designs other jewelry makers come up with and learning new techniques.  I’d love to share some of that knowledge and learning with you and invite you to participate in a signed book giveaway.  The book is “Beading With World Beads” by Ray Hemachandra and is published by Lark Books.  It is a beautiful book that shares so much information about beads of the world.  The projects are beautiful, the instructions clear and easy to follow.  It also shares tips – I’ve already found a tip about darkening brass useful.

To enter the giveaway, please leave a comment in this blog post or direct message me on Twitter @thebeadddreamer and mention the giveaway.  Be sure to include a valid email address so I can notify you if you win and get your mailing address.  The winner will be picked Friday 11/13/09 at 7:00pm EST.

When I got the book, I was so excited to try one of the projects so I could share it with you in this blog post.  I flipped through the book, putting sticky notes on the projects I was interested in.  After eight or nine stickies, I told myself – you can’t pick any more, you have to narrow it down.  It was hard, but I did.  I made this necklace, my interpretation of a design by Karen J. Lauseng.  I can’t wait to try some of the other projects.

Blue Agate DSCF82291

Please stay tuned.  I have two other beautiful jewelry making books from Lark Books to give away over the coming weeks.

Bookmark and Share

