Paulina Necklace

In my city, there is a little bit of waterfront that yields wonderful treasures.  It’s not really a beach.  It’s more like an area with rocks and tall grasses near some warehouses and office buildings.  Over the years, I’ve managed to collect a few objects that I knew would be beautiful as jewelry.  For a long time, I did not have the skills to do anything with the pieces.  They sat in a box and I would run my hands through them every so often – things worn by the sea can have such a nice feel.

The blue ceramic piece in this necklace was found at this waterfront area.  I loved the color.  I loved the v-shape that is now at the bottom.  I loved that part of it was broken and then smoothed by the water.  Maybe it was a hexagon?  Doesn’t matter – I think I like it better this way.  I set it in sterling silver with four shorter prongs and one really long prong that curves around nestling in the crevices.  I elaborated on the color blue by adding a lapis stone at the top.  Most of the time, I make beaded necklaces for my creations.  This pendant said no – it wanted the simplicity of a chain only.  I said OK.

Bookmark and Share

