SaraNecklace1To quote the talented Marlene True – “Tin is in and good as gold.”  And she’s right.  Tin is a great resource for jewelry making.  It can be cut, filed, and drilled using regular jeweler’s tools.  Tin that is painted cannot be heated without affecting the paint, but it can be attached using rivets and tabs – probably other ways as well. 

This necklace was made using a piece of tin I have had for a while.  I kept it because it was pretty, figuring I’d find a use for it someday.  That day finally came and I love the resulting necklace.  I cut a section out that had a lovely flowering tree motif and then cut a second larger piece out of nickle silver for the backing.  I textured the backing piece, drilled holes where needed and riveted the two together.  I still have some of the tin left, so who knows – you may see it crop up in other pieces.

I’ve mentioned that I was working with tin to some friends, and they all smiled and said they had some stashed away in a closet, or the garage, or wherever.  They’ve made donations, happy to see a use for the items.  As a result, my tin stash is growing and I’m excited about working with more of it.

