FirstTabSettingYesterday in class we were shown gorgeous examples of tab settings.   I had not tried them before and was excited about exploring them.  Bob (our instructor) showed many variations of tab settings, all so beautifully done both in design and workmanship.  I know I won’t have time to explore all of the variations presented while here at Penland.  I will be able to carry it into my work when I return home.

This is the first tab setting I did.  It is rather primitive, but it got the job done.  The bail at the top is simply a longer tab curved over with pliers.  This first tab setting helped me see the outcome of decisions I made on tab length, width, shape, and placement.  I’ve already started cutting out two more, exploring some of the options, beginning the journey down the path of learning and refining this technique.

