Seashells and Ceramic BeadsI think many of us that make handcrafted items are influenced at times by the seasons – I know I certainly am.  Summertime can inspire designs using shell, wood, and other beads that bring the beach to mind or have a light, summery feel.  This necklace is one example. 

As soon as I felt the strand of square shell beads in my hand at a local bead store, I had to have them.  Being natural beads, they are not identical – some have more curvature than others.  I used small seed beads in the same color as little spacers to accommodate the natural variations.  I think the necklace flows nicely from the square edges and very tight repetition in the front to the larger ceramic, wood, glass, and other beads in the back.  The colors bring to mind sandy beaches and caramel.

