UseTheMuse

Photo courtesy of Scarlett Lanson

 I think contests are an excellent way for artists and artisans to stretch and grow.  I just entered the Use the Muse Beading Contest II.  These are the beads and supplies that all contest participants will use along with a secret item that we won’t see until we receive the package in the mail.  How exciting!  The beads pictured are gorgeous enough as is, I can’t imagine what else might be added.  My ideas are starting to simmer but I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself since I don’t know what the secret item is.

My goal when entering contests is to submit something that I feel proud of.  Something that I feel stretched me or made me look at things a different way.  Something that made me better as an artisan.  I don’t really focus on the outcome of the actual contest.  Of course, it’s nice to win things, but it’s also nice to see progress and growth in ones work.  That’s a prize too.

You can find out more about the contest by clicking here.  It’s a beautiful blog and you can see winners and entries from last year.  Wish me luck!  I’ll post the photograph of my item here once the contest is done.

