benchpinThis is my bench pin.  This is where most of the action takes place when I am doing metalwork.  The style I have slides onto a metal bracket that is attached to my work bench.  When I want to solder, I remove the bench pin and put the soldering station on instead.

I can remember years ago seeing jeweler’s benches that were just covered with an amazing assortment of tools and things.  I couldn’t imagine how anyone could know what to do with all of the tools.  I further couldn’t image how anyone could possibly work with the top of the bench was almost completely covered.  I didn’t know at the time that you worked in front of the bench on the pin.

This is my pin, it’s in pretty decent shape.  Over time, they get beat up, drill holes, saw marks, dents and bangs from working.  Then you start over with a new one and the newness feels funny at first.  You can see my hammers in the storage area below.

