purpleearr

 

If you saw my previous post, I selected some materials inspired by the purple teardrop beads used in these earrings.  In my mind, I saw a sophisticated pair of dangle earrings that made the purple beads look elegant.  I chose to pair the teardrops with some bead work in shades of purple and gold.  I got them done and am really happy with the results.

In thinking through the design, I decided to wire wrap the purple teardrops.  These particular teardrops have holes drilled near the top that go from one side to the other.  You can also find teardrop shaped beads that have holes drilled from the top to the bottom.  Both are excellent choices, you just have to treat them a little differently when it comes to assembling a piece.  Wire wrapping is just one technique that works well with side drilled teardrop and pear shaped beads.  I think the various components come together very nicely and I am pleased.

