After yesterday’s historic inauguration and President Obama’s speech, I feel a sense of hope about my country that I have not felt in a long time.  As I watched, I felt a renewed commitment and a willingness to do my share to make things better.  Today, on Oprah, I heard about Starbuck’s offer of a free coffee to anyone willing to pledge to do five hours of community service.

My first thought was of a local park I enjoy.  I wrote a post about an artist’s date at the park.  There is a place where a small foot bridge crosses over a stream.  The last time I was there, I saw a lot of litter.  I could clean it up to help my nation and my community.  OK – I will need one of those litter stick things and gloves – anyone who knows me knows I am neat and clean.  However, what really matters is that – I am in.

im-in

