conceptQuite some time ago, I got the idea to make a necklace from pieces of felt I bought at a local quilt show.  I remember being mesmerized by the colors and beauty of real wool felt.  Growing up, I knew felt as the type you would buy in a craft store – inexpensive fabric in very basic colors.  At the time, I had no idea any other type of felt even existed.  So when I saw real wool felt, saw the colors and sophistication – how could I resist?

I got the felt home and it sat in a closet – a while.  I pulled it out to try and make something, but  the concept just wasn’t coming together.  I made this little mock-up and put it in a plastic bag to do something with it later.  Last night, while I was looking for something else, I saw it, and the idea of what to do with it immediately came together.  I am glad, so very glad, that I learned not to kill little seedlings of ideas because they are not fully formed upon initial thought.  Some ideas have to hang out a little while.

