copper-leaves2For quite some time now, I have been fascinated by the  leaf motif.  When I am on the phone and doodle absentmindedly, I usually doodle leaves or scrolls.

My doodles have turned to thoughts of jewelry made of metal leaves.  It is important to me that the leaves have some veining and dimension.  These are my practice leaves I’ve used to determine the best way to texture and shape them so they are not just lifeless and flat.

When I am working out a piece or technique, I work in copper.  It is so much less expensive than silver, giving me the freedom to make mistakes – so necessary while learning.  Once I have the technical aspects worked out, I then transition to silver and make finished jewelry.  It will be interesting to see where my original doodles take me.

